- What the Pass-Rate Data Actually Shows
- Why No Single Number Tells the Story
- How the S5 Exam Is Built
- Where Candidates Win and Lose by Domain
- The Experience Requirement and What It Means for Pass Rates
- Fees, Scheduling Windows, and Retake Economics
- Who Takes S5 and Who Hires Them
- A Prep Plan Weighted to the Test Specifications
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The S5 exam has 60 questions: 50 scored plus 10 unscored research questions, in 75 minutes.
- Steering and Suspension together make up 72% of the exam, 36% each.
- Initial testing costs $62 plus a $34 registration fee per order; plan retakes accordingly.
- Certification is awarded only after you pass and document the required work experience.
What the Pass-Rate Data Actually Shows
If you searched for the "S5 pass rate" hoping for a clean percentage, here is the honest answer: the public materials for the ASE School Bus Suspension and Steering (S5) test do not publish a pass-rate figure that we can cite responsibly. The 2026 ASE School Bus Study Guide describes the test specifications, the task list, the question counts and the timing, but it does not state how many candidates pass. Any site that quotes a precise S5 pass percentage without pointing to a primary source is guessing, and we are not going to do that here.
What the published data does show is a great deal about how the exam is constructed, and that structure is a better predictor of your outcome than any blended pass statistic. This article walks through those structural facts, explains why a headline pass rate would be less useful than it appears, and shows you how to turn the official test specifications into a preparation plan. If you want the full picture of how demanding the exam is in practice, pair this with our S5 difficulty guide.
Why No Single Number Tells the Story
Even if a pass rate were published, it would blend together very different candidate groups. The S5 population includes seasoned school bus technicians who have rebuilt front axle assemblies for a decade, apprentices who are two weeks into a fleet job, and automotive or heavy-duty technicians crossing over from other shops. A single percentage averages across all of them and tells you almost nothing about where you sit.
Three structural reasons make a blended rate a weak planning tool:
- Self-selection. ASE tests are voluntary. Candidates tend to schedule when they feel ready, which can skew results in either direction depending on how the pool is composed.
- Tests taken before experience is complete. Most ASE tests may be taken before the work-experience requirement is finished, so the candidate pool includes people still building their field background.
- Unscored research questions. Ten of the 60 questions do not count toward your result, so the effective exam you are judged on is the 50 scored items.
Rather than anchor on a statistic you cannot verify, anchor on the things you can control: coverage of the four published domains, familiarity with the question style, and the logistics of fees and scheduling. Our S5 passing score guide covers what is and is not publicly stated about how results are determined.
How the S5 Exam Is Built
The format is the most reliable data we have, so it is worth knowing precisely. The 2026 S5 exam contains 60 total questions: 50 scored questions and 10 unscored research questions. You have 75 minutes of testing time. The research questions are not identified, so you cannot tell which ones do not count. The only sensible strategy is to answer every question with full effort.
| Feature | Initial S5 Test | S5 Recertification |
|---|---|---|
| Total questions | 60 (50 scored + 10 unscored) | 25 |
| Testing time | 75 minutes | 30 minutes |
| Research questions | Yes, unidentified | None added |
| Credential validity | Five years | Renews for five years |
Seventy-five minutes for 60 questions works out to a little over a minute per item. That sounds generous until you hit a scenario-style question that asks you to interpret a symptom, rule out two plausible causes and select the most likely fault. Pace yourself so you are not forced to guess on the final stretch.
Testing is available in person at Prometric test centers and, for eligible candidates, through online remote testing. Our S5 exam dates and scheduling guide explains how the window works in practice.
Where Candidates Win and Lose by Domain
The official test specifications divide the exam into four content areas with published weights. This is the closest thing to hard data on where points are available, and it is the right lens for judging your own readiness. For a deeper walkthrough, see our complete guide to the four S5 content areas.
| Domain | Weight | Approx. scored questions* |
|---|---|---|
| Steering System Diagnosis and Repair | 36% | About 18 of 50 |
| Suspension Systems Diagnosis and Repair | 36% | About 18 of 50 |
| Wheel Alignment Diagnosis, Adjustment, and Repair | 16% | About 8 of 50 |
| Wheels and Tires Diagnosis and Repair | 12% | About 6 of 50 |
*Illustrative arithmetic applying the published weights to the 50 scored questions; the guide itself publishes the percentages, not per-domain question counts.
Domain 1: Steering System Diagnosis and Repair (36%)
Tied for the heaviest domain. Expect questions that begin with a symptom, such as hard steering, wander, pull, or excessive play, and ask you to isolate the cause.
- Steering gear and linkage diagnosis, including wear and adjustment checks
- Power steering system operation, fluid condition and pressure-related faults
- Tie rods, drag links, pitman and idler arms, and steering column components
- Reading a symptom description and choosing the correct next diagnostic step
Domain 2: Suspension Systems Diagnosis and Repair (36%)
The other half of the exam's center of gravity. School buses run heavy loads, so suspension questions reflect heavy-vehicle hardware and wear patterns.
- Leaf springs, air springs and related height-control components
- Shock absorbers, bushings, hangers and attaching hardware
- Axle and suspension mounting inspection and failure indicators
- Ride height, sagging, uneven stance and noise complaints
Domain 3: Wheel Alignment Diagnosis, Adjustment, and Repair (16%)
A mid-weight domain where precision matters. These questions often connect an alignment condition to the tire wear or handling complaint it produces.
- Alignment angles and what each one affects
- Diagnosing pull, tracking and uneven tire wear back to alignment causes
- Adjustment procedures and the conditions that must be corrected first
Domain 4: Wheels and Tires Diagnosis and Repair (12%)
The smallest domain, but not one to skip. It overlaps with alignment and suspension, so weakness here can leak into other sections.
- Tire wear patterns and what they reveal
- Wheel and hub condition, mounting and fastening
- Vibration and balance-related complaints
The Experience Requirement and What It Means for Pass Rates
Passing the test and becoming certified are two separate milestones, and that distinction matters when people talk about "pass rates." ASE certification requires successful completion of the test and documentation of relevant work experience. For S1 through S7, that is two years of full-time or part-time-equivalent Repair Technician experience, and qualifying formal education or training may substitute for part of the requirement.
You may be able to take the test before completing the experience requirement, but certification is not awarded until the requirement is fulfilled and approved. In other words, a passing result and an issued credential can be separated in time. If you are trying to understand whether you qualify and how to document your background, read our S5 requirements and eligibility guide.
Key Takeaway
Do not wait for the experience requirement to be finished before you start preparing. Because the test can be taken early, you can bank the passing result while your documented hours accumulate, then have the credential awarded once your experience is approved.
Fees, Scheduling Windows, and Retake Economics
The money and the calendar shape how you should approach this exam. The initial certification test fee is $62, plus a $34 registration fee per order. Because the registration fee applies per order, how you bundle your tests can affect your total cost. Our S5 certification cost breakdown walks through the full pricing picture.
The scheduling rule is just as important: tests must be scheduled and taken within 90 days of purchase. That window creates a natural preparation deadline. Buy too early and you may run short on time; buy too late and you carry the pressure of a ticking clock. Many candidates do best by building most of their review first and purchasing once they are within a few weeks of readiness.
- Confirm your experience path so you know what documentation you will need.
- Complete a domain-by-domain self-assessment against the four published headings.
- Purchase the test only when you can realistically sit it inside the 90-day window.
- Choose in-person Prometric or, if eligible, online remote testing.
If a first attempt does not go your way, the same fee logic applies to a retest, which is why a solid preparation plan up front is more economical than testing to find out what you do not know. Whether the credential justifies that spend is a separate question we address in our ROI analysis.
Who Takes S5 and Who Hires Them
The S5 test is aimed at technicians who work on school buses, and the people most motivated to earn it are those employed by organizations that maintain buses. That generally means school district transportation departments, private contractors who run bus fleets under district contracts, and dealerships or service centers that support school bus equipment. These employers value a recognized credential because it gives them a standardized way to verify diagnostic knowledge in steering and suspension, two systems tightly linked to student safety.
S5 also carries weight as a stepping stone. It is marked as required for ASE Certified Master School Bus Technician status, so technicians pursuing the Master designation cannot skip it. If you are mapping a longer career path, see our guides on S5 jobs and the S5 salary guide for how employers and pay tend to be discussed.
Once earned, the credential is valid for five years. Renewal uses the shorter recertification test of 25 questions in 30 minutes, with no research questions added. That shorter format rewards technicians who keep their working knowledge current rather than cramming once and letting it lapse.
A Prep Plan Weighted to the Test Specifications
This is the one place we will talk study structure, and we tie it directly to the S5 weights rather than generic advice. The logic is simple: allocate time in proportion to points, but front-load the domains that feed into the others. For a fuller roadmap, see our S5 study guide.
Steering System Diagnosis and Repair
- Work through symptom-to-cause chains for steering complaints
- Review gear, linkage and power steering fault patterns
Suspension Systems Diagnosis and Repair
- Cover spring types, shocks, bushings and mounting hardware
- Practice interpreting ride height and noise complaints
Wheel Alignment and Wheels and Tires
- Link alignment conditions to tire wear and handling symptoms
- Review wheel, hub and tire diagnosis together since they overlap
Mixed Review Under Time Pressure
- Take full-length mixed sets paced at 60 questions in 75 minutes
- Revisit your weakest domain, weighted toward Steering and Suspension
When you are ready to test your recall, our S5 practice tests let you drill by domain and simulate the full pacing. After you have worked through a few sets, our one-page S5 cheat sheet is a handy final review, and you can always return to the main practice site to track your weak areas over time.
Frequently Asked Questions
The 2026 ASE School Bus Study Guide does not publish a pass rate for the S5 test. It details the content areas, weights, question counts and timing, but not pass statistics. Be cautious of any site that cites a precise percentage without a primary source, and make sure it refers to ASE's School Bus Suspension and Steering test rather than another credential that shares the S5 label.
The exam has 60 total questions: 50 scored and 10 unscored research questions. You get 75 minutes. The research questions are not identified, so you should answer all 60 with full effort.
Steering System Diagnosis and Repair and Suspension Systems Diagnosis and Repair each carry 36%, together 72% of the exam. Wheel Alignment is 16% and Wheels and Tires is 12%. Prioritize the first two while keeping the other two from becoming blind spots.
Most ASE tests may be taken before the experience requirement is complete, but certification is not awarded until the requirement is fulfilled and approved. For S1 through S7, that means two years of full-time or part-time-equivalent Repair Technician experience, with qualifying education or training potentially substituting for part of it.
The initial test fee is $62 plus a $34 registration fee per order. Tests must be scheduled and taken within 90 days of purchase, so time your purchase to match your preparation.
Certification is valid for five years. The S5 recertification test has 25 questions and a 30-minute limit, and no research questions are added to recertification tests.
The takeaway on the S5 pass rate is that the number you want does not exist in the public guide, but the information that actually helps you pass does. Know the 60-question, 75-minute format, respect the 36/36/16/12 weighting, mind the 90-day scheduling window, and plan around the experience requirement. For a broader orientation, start with what S5 certification is and build from there.